UPDATE statement on table results in error message

Forum for DBF Commander discussing.

UPDATE statement on table results in error message

Postby pal » Wed Apr 05, 2017 10:33 am

Hello,

I'm running DBF Commander Pro (Version 4.1, Build 80) and I'm trying to update rows in a DBF table.
However I always get an error message -> Function is not implemented when I try to execute for example the following statements:

Code: Select all
UPDATE "H:\test\inmast.dbf"
SET inmast.fonhand=999.0
WHERE inmast.fonhand=0.0

UPDATE "H:\test\inmast.dbf"
SET fdescript = 'Test'
WHERE fpartno = 'CP2020'


I'm running out of ideas, do you have any?

Thank you in advance.
pal
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2017 5:35 pm

Re: UPDATE statement on table results in error message

Postby Admin » Wed Apr 05, 2017 11:06 am

Hi,
I've just tried similar query on a DBF file, and it works fine. Please ensure that:

1. File 'H:\test\inmast.dbf' exists.
2. The file contains all the fields participated in your SQL.

If you'll still be unable to discover the reason, please attach a sample DBF file.
Best regards,
Oleg Zhechkov
User avatar
Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 116
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 7:27 pm

Re: UPDATE statement on table results in error message

Postby pal » Wed Apr 05, 2017 2:55 pm

Hi, thanks for your quick response.

Yes I'm sure I've got those 2 things right, because I can provoke the corresponding error messages when I change the path or field names:
-> SQL: Column 'FONHAND1234' is not found and -> File 'inmast9876.dbf' does not exist

I have attached a test database excerpt.
Attachments
inmast.zip
(10.23 KiB) Downloaded 392 times
pal
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2017 5:35 pm

Re: UPDATE statement on table results in error message

Postby Admin » Wed Apr 05, 2017 3:03 pm

This DBF table belongs to a DBC database. So that, the UPDATE cannot be executed. Please copy the 'inmast.dbf' along with its Memo-file 'inmast.fpt' to another directory and try again.
Best regards,
Oleg Zhechkov
User avatar
Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 116
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 7:27 pm

Re: UPDATE statement on table results in error message

Postby pal » Fri Apr 07, 2017 4:01 pm

You're right, it works when I "cut" the link between DBF table and DBC database.

As I'm not too familiar with DBC databases and DBF tables, I might have to look for another way of updating tables (but select works fine and that's my main concern) as I don't dare to cut the link between DBF/DBC.

Thank you for your support!
pal
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2017 5:35 pm


Return to DBF Commander Professional

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron